To KNOW God and make Him KNOWN

So I have been trying to get a first blog post for over a year now.  What is holding me back?  The rules, that I might have set on myself of what or how I want to say things. I knew I wanted to always try and focus on the positive and not focus on anything negative.  I also get a lot from books and make lots of notes.  Not everything I have to say are my OWN words, but words I want to OWN.  In those cases I will put where my sources come from.  That being said I will share where my reading journey is right now.

I just finished reading a book by Priscilla Shirer, He Speaks to Me ~ Preparing to Hear from God.  I am currently reading 7 ~ an experimental mutiny against excess.  I am also doing the Beth Moore Bible Study, for the second time James ~ Mercy Triumphs.  Why the second time?  Because this time my focus will be on memorizing the whole book of James, which I have also wanted to do for over a year now.

So I heard God speak to me, as he often does, through someone else’s words.  And it was a clear indication for me to write my first blog about this, because it had EVERYTHING to do with what I want my blogs to be about.

I recently heard on the radio and in other places in my memory a phrase that goes something like this….People are not interested in what I am against; they are interested in what I am for.  So then again I’m reading today in my “7” book, and the same concept comes up.  At this particular point the author, Jen Hatmaker (and a little side note, you might want to friend her on Facebook, she is hilarious) is on a month of where she has only picked seven pieces of clothing to wear that month (undergarments don’t count…lol).  In Isaiah 58:5-6, it says…

“Do you call this fasting, a fast day that I, God, would like?  This is the kind of fast day I’m after: to break the chains of injustice, get rid of exploitation to the workplace, free the oppressed, cancel debts.” (MESSAGE)

Ok, kinda sounds heavy but this is what I get out of it.  I sure like my “religious” yokes.  It sure shows someone where I stand, BUT…did they see God?  I have a lot of “I don’ts” while the world or others around me have a lot of “I do’s” that I do not agree with.  But when it is all said and done, did they see God or what I stand for?  What IS God’s idea of a fast or a stand we might take?  It is far less about what I am AGAINST and far more about what I am FOR.  Is what I am fasting or standing for, something I think I am denying myself from OR do I really look at it as a way God is saving me from a yoke of oppression?  Isaiah was not talking about a fast from abstinence, but from self-obsession.

So I hope and will pray that in my journey of blogs that you will see more of what I am for than what I am against…what I do rather than what I don’t.  That the most important thing in my life and my true life PURPOSE  is to know God and make him known.

Toodles

Leave a Reply

